Remembering My First Time (in Blogging)

flickr.com/photos/avrdreamer/

When you started your blog, did you set any goals? Have you achieved them? Have they changed at all?

via Daily Prompt: Goals | The Daily Post

~

I came across the words “blog” and “blogging” back in 2006 when I was in second year college. Friendster, the dominant social networking service in the Philippines back then, introduced blogs to their users. Although it was under Friendster (blog-name.blog.friendster.com), it was powered by WordPress.com.

It was optional; not everyone in my friends list made one, but I went ahead and got one for myself. Back then, blogs were seen as literally, “online diaries”. I didn’t want to make daily accounts of my life open to the public. It was mentioned, however, that we could write about our lives or just about anything. I took that and decided to “just write”.

I remember that I was enthralled by the idea that I could write about anything and “self-publish” it on the web. I could write short stories! I could write a manuscript or a book! I could show off my poems! I could do anything — well, within a literary perspective, anyway. I was that giddy about blogging since I was a campus journalist since high school.

Unconsciously, that was my blogging goal: to self-publish all literary works I did for I didn’t think I would be able to become a full-fledged writer. It was a compensatory avenue to preserve some self-esteem by believing that I could have some of my written pieces “published”.

Truth be told, I didn’t last long in the Friendster blogging service. I think I published two or three blogs posts there. 😛 I eventually migrated fully into WordPress.com and never turned back. I did try other blogging services, but I love the flexibility of WordPress.com. I’m happy I was able to maintain this blog up to now. 😀

I am not (yet?) a full-fledged writer, but I was able to self-publish my literary pieces. So yeah, my unconscious blogging goal was attained. And yes, that goal has changed into: blogging and creating content about the interests I value.

If you’re new to blogging, you should have at least one blogging goal to keep you focused. In doing so, you’ll stay long in the blogging realm. Just a reminder. 🙂

Cheers!

Image Source

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

2 thoughts on “Remembering My First Time (in Blogging)”

  1. Great post. I just started a blog and I love the support from the community. It is great to see someone that has done it for so long and definitely an inspiration to continue what I’m doing. Best of luck with everything 🙂

    1. Hi Joe!

      Thanks very much! 😀 WordPress.com has a lot of great bloggers and the community is definitely superb! I owe it also to the WP.com community for the support, help, and tips on blogging. Good to see people starting to blog; it’s a great means of expression.

      Happy writing and best of luck as well!

      Cheers! 🙂

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

