Classified: Suicide

What’s the most significant secret you’ve ever kept? Did the truth ever come out?

via Daily Prompt: Evasive Action | The Daily Post

~

I’ve kept three secrets told to me in confidence relating to suicide intents. This happened when I was in high school. As far as I can remember, one was in my freshman year, another in third year, and the final one was in my graduating year. That’s three friends who wanted to commit suicide because of family problems/misunderstandings.

Honestly, I didn’t know the proper way to address those kinds of situations back then. I was in my early teens, for crying out loud! But I wasn’t creeped out, anyway. Surprisingly, I wasn’t even stunned by my friends’ pronouncements.

I went like, “They wouldn’t do it anyway … “

While studying as a student-nurse in college, did I find out that any suicide intents must be taken seriously.

These people are wavering between thoughts and actions. They are on the fence that separates sanity and the loss of rational reasoning. So I do hope that everyone who encounters similar situations would take extra precaution and monitor their family member, friend, or any person who expresses suicide.

By the way, recently, these secrets eventually came out to some of our mutual friends, but I never told those three that I shared these past experiences with our friends.

~
As for you, I do wish I could understand the circumstances you are going through. I do wish I know the occurrences that lead you to this point. Do step outside of yourself, sort of seeing yourself like you’re having an out of body experience. While in that state think of the long-term outcomes.

Are you doing this for your family? You may have good intents but actually, this won’t be good for them. You don’t die for  them. Instead, you live for your family.

Are you doing this out the harshness of life that you cannot fathom anymore? I do not know “the trigger” or what had happened to lead you to this decision. But think of it as a rude awakening that has gone past worst. Understand that and take a step back to analyze everything.

It all is simply a lesson to teach you that life is unfair. Not everything that you aspire for in this world will come true. This life, our lives, are not fairy tales. Don’t reach for perfection. Near-perfection is okay, but not always; they come rarely. Focus on the goodness of life instead.

GOD wants you to learn that the obstacles and “unfairness” that you go through prepares you to appreciate what will come ahead. If it weren’t for the obstacles and “unfairness”, you would most probably be taking future blessings for granted.  It may take a long, looong time (i.e., years and years) of experiencing obstacles and “unfairness”, but do persevere in everything you do. It won’t go to waste. Believe in righteousness. Everything is a GOD-orchestrated plan. No worries! (Hakuna Matata!) 😀

Lastly, live so that you will see what will happen in the future. Look forward to the next day.

Cheers! 🙂

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

8 thoughts on “Classified: Suicide”

    1. Hi Lily!

      AGREE!! That way of thinking (looking at trials as precursors to the development of character) should be employed by all. Thanks for reading!

      Cheers! 😀

  1. Nice post. I think many more people would talk about thoughts of suicide if they had a person to listen, and didn’t have to fear that their rights would be taken away. I think it is very good to pay attention, and just as important to listen, as you did with your friends.

    1. Hi Michelle B.!

      I agree, allowing people to vent out their feelings and suicidal thoughts is already a big help to them. Listening really does go a long way. Thanks very much for reading!

      Cheers! 😀

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

