Endeared with Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You / Reaching You

Kimi-ni-Todoke-vol-1-cover-artI’m trying to recall how I discovered Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, a shōjo manga and animé title by Karuho Shiina.

Hmm … so basically, I just finished reading chapter 19 of Fairy Tail on mangapanda.com and was looking for a romance manga with cutesy characters. Something along the lines of Card Captor Sakura and Ranma 1/2. Anyway, I think I was on the homepage of MangaPanda and was scrolling through their “Popular Manga” list. That, or I hit their “Surprise Me!” button beside the search field, which takes you to a random manga title. Regardless of which among those methods I performed, I found myself facing the cover art of the first volume of Kimi ni Todoke (see left image).

I went over to Wikipedia to check out its description and general story plot:

  • Sawako Kuronuma, the female protagonist, is misunderstood, feared, and thus, lonely … CHECK!
  • Sawako is actually shy and sweet … CHECK!
  • Horror movie reference via Sawako’s resemblance to Sadako from The Ring … CHECK!
  • Shota Kazehaya, the male protagonist, is popular, kind, and treats everyone equally … CHECK!
  • Popular boy falls in love with clueless, unpopular girl … CHECK!

All of the above enticed me to check out this shōjo manga. But instead of the manga, I thought that maybe I could find an animé adaptation of this title. AND THERE WAS! I immediately downloaded all episodes of the first and second seasons. Actually, I just finished watching all 25 episodes of the first season and it was absolutely SWEET!

I know what you’re thinking: “What’s a 25-year-old-guy doing watching a shōjo animé?” If you didn’t know, shōjo manga and animé are aimed for 10-to-18-year-old FEMALE audiences.

Kimi-ni-Todoke-silhouette-kiss

Hey! I enjoy titles aimed for these young demographics. That’s just that: I ENJOY THEM! Which does not say that I am a pedophile. 😯 I just love reliving my younger years through manga and animé like these. It puts me in a contemplating mood, which is very cozy and relaxing.

Speaking of cozy and relaxing, I also downloaded the soundtrack. I’m now listening to Pure ~ guitar. Absolutely love it!

Next up: season two! 😀 Cheers!

Image Source 1 | Image Source 2

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

One thought on “Endeared with Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You / Reaching You”

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

