PhilHealth Nationwide Run 2013 (Baguio City)

PhilHealth-Nationwide-Run-2013-Baguio-City-1At the start of this week (17 February 2013 — Sunday), me and some of my friends participated in a simultaneous nationwide run organized by the Philippine Health Insurance Corporation (PhilHealth). The Philippine government-owned and government-controlled corporation (GOCC) that provides universal health coverage for Filipinos organized the said run to raise funds for mother and child protection.

There were four categories for the organized run: 3K, 5K, 10K, and 18K.

My first attempt to participate in an organized run was in late 2011, wherein I ran in the 3K category. My second attempt was in early 2012 under the 12K category. The third was also in early 2012 but at a shorter 5K distance.

I was contemplating the 18K category, but I haven’t had any proper training prior to this so I opted for 10K. I thought it was extreme and thus considered 5K, but then again, I thought I should aim for longer distances now — barring leg pains and exhaustion.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To cut to the day of the event, I was able to complete the 10-kilometer distance in about one hour and 30 minutes (no official time record has been released yet), which indicates that I’ve gone slower! 😕 Back  when I ran in a 12K distance last year, I clocked in at about the same time! ‘Gotta train and get back in shape!

Here’s to healthy living in 2013!

Cheers! 😀

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

One thought on “PhilHealth Nationwide Run 2013 (Baguio City)”

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

