I Choose the Changes I Implement

You need to make a major change in your life. Do you make it all at once, cold turkey style, or incrementally? 

via Daily Prompt: Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

Let’s answer the question first: Mostly, I would implement changes incrementally. I’m not a fan of abrupt or radical actions. I’m more of a “scientific method” kind of guy.

  1. I assess what needs to be done. What are the problems in my life that necessitate change?
  2. I identify the “right” solutions or options. I choose one, which I prefer among all the rest.
  3. I set SMART (Simple, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, Time-Bound) goals to keep me focused.
  4. I plan out the actions that will lead to the desired change.
  5. I then start out “Operation *insert issue here* Change”. I take my time to see if I can keep up with the actions.
  6. If I can’t keep it up, it’s back to the drawing board.
  7. If I’m able to keep it up, I just keep moving forward.

Usually, this process takes me, oh about 30 minutes of thinking, three hours, tops. 😛 Can’t waste precious time just planning and imagining without any due action, right?

~

A related point to this post is that, I carefully choose the changes that I will implement. I don’t believe all change is right; it may be good, but it doesn’t necessarily mean that it is right.

  • I just make choices on matters that will later on affect my future. Matters like health, finance, career, what I will do when I get old, safety, making sure my family will be secure if ever I won’t be there for them, and so on. Things like that.
  • I also make changes based on my beliefs and their accordance to social acceptability and responsibility.
  • Changes should also ensure that my family and friends are not harmed in any way.
  • The changes I implement should be something I can stand up for and protect.
  • Lastly, I am more inclined towards long-term changes. These are more challenging, but are nevertheless, more rewarding.

Cheers, everyone! 😀

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

2 thoughts on “I Choose the Changes I Implement”

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

