My 2013 Blog Theme (Again!)

I must be crazy switching from one theme to another within only five days! I do apologize for the erratic change; I’m happy with my current blog theme now. It really is fortunate that WordPress.com’s Theme Team just released this new blog theme, “My Life”.

So how is the theme?

Although I’m not aiming for the brown and baby blue color scheme, I’m satisfied with its minimalist layout. I’m happy with the typeface and font size for the post body; it’s big enough to be legible. The font for the title and headings could be bigger with thicker strokes. Additionally, they should have been in a darker color. Nevertheless, I can bear with it.

I like how the items displayed on the sidebar have smaller font sizes than that of the post body. This enables me to showcase the widgets that I love, which are a lot, without compromising the default number of blog posts that will be shown on the front page. One of my blog design principles is: if possible, the last post on the front page should be parallel to the last widget on the sidebar.

Again, I just wish the hyperlink colors were darker. 😛

A unique feature of this blog theme that I love is that it supports three custom menus! The standard custom menu is found in the usual position at the top of the blog. Another custom menu can be positioned inline with the blog header (it’s the “Social” button). Finally, a third custom menu can be positioned as the blog’s footer. All except the third custom menu support up to four menu levels.

You can read all about this blog theme for WordPress.com here.

Oh, and thanks very much to Justin Tadlock for creating this theme. 😀

Any thoughts on my blog’s new theme?
Cheers!

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

2 thoughts on “My 2013 Blog Theme (Again!)”

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

