New Look for 2013!

Yes! As you can see, I’ve changed my blog theme, along with some of its menus and navigation links. It’s the month of the New Year and for me, it epitomizes the initiation of changes that have been put off for some time now. I’ve always wanted to try a blog theme with a featured slider (it’s the one you see above on the home page) that showcases blog posts along with featured images. It gives the  blog a  more professional magazine look. 😀

This blog theme is called “Sight”, by the way, in the WordPress.com theme repository. It’s a free theme, which is a good thing since I don’t want to spend for features when free alternatives are available.

Another feature of “Sight” that I love is that blog posts are automatically truncated or published in excerpt form. This is the main defining feature of magazine-style themes. The first few words of a particular blog post are published with a “continue reading” link. This will prompt the reader to click on the blog post’s link, which will then register as a “view” on the blog’s statistics.

Although I like this theme’s layout, I’m concerned with the font size of the body text. It’s smaller than that on the last blog theme that I used (Twenty Twelve). It’s a concern because some of our blog readers might not be able to read the content legibly, thus driving them away. I would spend for a feature to increase the font size, but I believe it’s a scheme by WordPress.com to capitalize on features that should be free in the first place. I obviously don’t believe in their business model, but I do love the degree of customization and user-friendliness of WordPress.com.

Now, I’ve gone through the list of themes on WordPress.com and there are those that are more beautiful and appealing than this current one that I’m using. Heck, there are also those that have bigger, more beautiful, and more legible font sizes and faces than those found on this theme! So basically, I chose this blog theme because of its magazine style. And I just realized, I haven’t used a magazine-style theme for some time now.

What do you think of my blog’s new theme? Yay or nay?

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

One thought on “New Look for 2013!”

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

