Craving More of the “Best Medicine”

I want to laugh more.

I just realized that I don’t laugh more often now compared to when I was going to school. In elementary, most of what made me laugh came from the television. I was a cartoon freak (Then again, wasn’t everyone who grew up in the 1990s cartoon freaks?). I also watched a lot of comedy films, mostly employing slapstick comedy (comedy that depends more on actions and choreography).

For both high school and college, my dose of laughter came from my friends. We would laugh endlessly on everyday antics. We would joke about issues and events. And for me, I would laugh at the way my friends laugh, i.e., infectious laughter, manner of laughing, etc. It was a crazy time!

After graduation, I noticed that all these hearty moments decreased. Basically, the times on which I would meet my friends lessened. Apparently, laughing opportunities are proportional to social interactions. Because I don’t work in an office, my social interaction is low to nonexistent. Online social networking and the Internet are different — the genuine human element is not there. Human, yes; genuine, no.

This implies that if I want to laugh more, I should socialize more. Of course, I need to choose the people  I would socialize with: The jolly ones.

Another factor that decreased my laughing opportunities is desensitization to current events. I admit that I am one of the many who are desensitized to such. What does this mean, exactly? It means that we are not overly affected by news and events. Nothing stirs our emotions anymore! “How did this come to be?” you ask. Too much pop culture. Too much information. Too much media penetration. Because there was too much information, ideas, and content shoved down our throats, our taste buds got used to extreme and “way-out” news and information.

For example, when a worldwide superstar is reported to have died because of prohibited drug overdose, you yawn and say, “So what else is new?”

So even if a comedic occurrence is reported or even if a comedy film is screened, it wouldn’t tickle us enough to invoke hearty laughter.

Finally, we have the “busy schedule” syndrome. Basically, with too much supposedly, important stuff to do, we no longer have the time to laugh.

The proposition, “I want to laugh more” is a nice addition to my New Year’s resolutions. So what do I do?

  1. Get along with people more, socialize, meet new individuals, and develop relationships with acquaintances into friendships.
  2. Lower expectations, live simply than last year, and decrease the priority of being up-to-date on news and current events: focus more on what I am doing instead.
  3. Say “No!” to activities that hog up my schedule when I am already on a full daily and weekly agenda.

Here’s to a more laughable year!
Cheers! 😀

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

