Thankful for These Five

There are always things to be thankful for.

Despite adversities and frustrations I experienced this year, I would have to thank GOD for this same year because of the opportunities I received. Actually, I feel that I should also be thankful for the adversities and frustrations I went through. People may ask, “What is in those that you should be thankful for? You wasted significant amounts of time and effort!”

To that, I answer with words of wisdom from my friend:

You cannot say that you wasted time, effort, or money. Although you didn’t get what you wanted, you got experiences. And you can use these experiences in the future. So, you never really wasted anything.

Thus, I am thankful for the following:

  1. Failing twice in the entrance examinations to the University of the Philippines – Conservatory of Music. Perhaps it was not meant to be. By failing, we can say that I was saved from additional problems that I might have encountered. See, if I did pass and pursued studying there, I would have left my mom alone in our home. I would have moved to Manila, which is not exactly a safe place for people from provinces. And, we would have spent a lot for tuition, board and lodging, transportation, and food. I may have failed in this musical endeavor, but it does not mean that I will forget my love for music.
  2. Botched attempt to enroll in a Mass Communications Bachelor’s degree at a university in the nearby city. After my failed Conservatory of Music attempt, I looked into taking up MassComm as a second degree. I thought it would turn out great but it didn’t. I was again dejected at this failed attempt, but later realized that success need not be based on one’s acquired degree.
  3. Enrolling in a Master’s program in Development Communication. I am thankful for this opportunity because it gives me a new lease on academic life. I am able to figure things out well while at the same time, complete a post-graduate degree program, which is actually better than getting a Bachelor’s degree.
  4. Being a part of the Baguio Bloggers Society. This reinforced my will to be active in social media. Heck, it even motivated me to get back to blogging. If I never became a member of Baguio Bloggers Society, I wouldn’t event be publishing this blog post now! This is my related blog post.
  5. Being a YouTube Partner. At the start of December, I received an email that said that was qualified to monetize my YouTube videos! This got me all fired up to step up my vlogging and really focus on video-making. It was a truly blessed Yuletide gift! This is my related blog post and this is my YouTube channel. Subscribe to and like our vlogs! 😀

~

This blog post was inspired by the following blogging prompt. Click on the “via” link to learn more about and participate in this blogging prompt.

Let’s start another project/challenge now, shall we? One that will look back at the year that was. One that will look forward to the one that is to come. One that will spread warm and fuzzy feelings all around. In the span of 12 blog entries. Anyone want to sing a round of “12 Days of Christmas” with me?

12 Drummers Drummin: 12 lessons you’ve learned from 2012.
11 Pipers Piping: 11 highlights from each of the 11 months that have passed.
10 Lords-a-leaping: 10 men who have made a significant impact on your life this year.
9 Ladies Dancing: 9 women who have made a significant impact on your life this year.
8 Maids-a-milking: 8 songs about 2012.
7 Swans-a-swimming: 7 books you’ve read and loved.
6 Geese-a-laying: 6 photos that made/make you smile.
5 Gold Rings: 5 things you are grateful for.

via Fire Potion « sketches and scribbles (reloaded).

Cheers! 😀

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

