Seven Books I’ve Read in 2012

I believe that this is a tough list to make, now that I’m just going over the books that I’ve read this year. I can’t recall much of the books that I’ve read this year. Actually, it would seem that most of what I’ve read were blog posts and short stories posted on the Internet. Other materials that I’ve perused were my academic books and modules.

We’ve got a problem: I believe the books that I’ve read account for less than seven! Of course, by books, we mean novels: either hard bound or paperback copies. You know, those kinds of books that one usually reads as a pastime, and NOT as a coerced activity.

With that, I’ve decided to include notable online posts and some academic-related articles that I read and studied to this list:

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien
I actually started reading this in the few days of 2011 before the dawn of 2012. To be honest, I never got to finish this novel, which goes the same for the remaining two literary sequels. The pacing was too slow for me: I usually read murder mysteries, which are quick reads and in almost every chapter, something intense happens. The LOTR books just don’t fit my reading pleasure; although, I do LOVE the movies. 😀

The Documents in the Case by Dorothy L. Sayers
This is the first murder mystery I read this year. Sayers is in the same league as Agatha Christie and Ngaio Marsh. I loved the style in which this mystery novel was unwritten; very unlike traditional narrative story-telling. Click the link for my related book review vlog.

The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie
I’ve read a lot of Agatha Christie novels, specially those involving her hero, Hercule Poirot. However, it was only this year that I got to read her first novel that introduces this particular slueth.

Introduction to Development Communication by Ila Virginia C. Ongkiko and Alexander G. Flor
This is an academic material that, obviously, introduces the reader to Development Communication. It first tackles what development is, in terms of societal and community development, then tackles communication and the media in general. Click the link for my related blog post on my other blog.

The Job Interview >> Touching Story About Learning How to Appreciate Things (author unknown)
I’ll get to the point: I cried after reading this blog post. At the same time, I was thankful that this short story was shared by the blogger. It stresses the importance of family relationships, that most people in other societies nowadays don’t treasure. I’m glad I was born FIlipino. 🙂

Paper Menagerie by Ken Liu
This is another short story shared on the Internet that stresses family relationships and the importance of family communication. Looking at the comments aghast me: why not take the story for what it is worth? Read it here.

Water Boiling in a Peruvian Village: Diffusion That Failed (a case illustration based on Wellin)
This was an academic article given to us for one of our assignments. Personally, I believe that before implementing a community project, one has to both establish rapport with the community and ensure that his project fits in with the community’s culture. Read it here.

~

This blog post was inspired by the following blogging prompt. Click on the “via” link to learn more about and participate in the said blogging prompt.

Let’s start another project/challenge now, shall we? One that will look back at the year that was. One that will look forward to the one that is to come. One that will spread warm and fuzzy feelings all around. In the span of 12 blog entries. Anyone want to sing a round of “12 Days of Christmas” with me?

12 Drummers Drummin: 12 lessons you’ve learned from 2012.

11 Pipers Piping: 11 highlights from each of the 11 months that have passed.

10 Lords-a-leaping: 10 men who have made a significant impact on your life this year.

9 Ladies Dancing: 9 women who have made a significant impact on your life this year.

8 Maids-a-milking: 8 songs about 2012.

7 Swans-a-swimming: 7 books you’ve read and loved.

via Fire Potion « sketches and scribbles (reloaded).

Cheers!

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

2 thoughts on “Seven Books I’ve Read in 2012”

  1. Ha! Ha!

    Nauna talaga ang panonood ng movie version kaysa sa novels. Good luck on your attempt! I also wanted to read “The Hobbit” FIRST, before seeing the movie, pero wala eh. 😦 By the way, I just checked where I left my bookmark on “The Fellowship of the Ring” and I’m down to the last four chapters. 🙂 Maybe I might continue …

    But for now, I’m enjoying an LOTR movie marathon! 😀

    Cheers!

  2. I haven’t read any books by Tolkien! Haha! I’d love to be able to read them soon, though, even if the pacing would be slow. I remember my 5th grade teacher used to read us “The Hobbit” during free period. I’ll check out the short stories and links later when I get home. 😀

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

