Eight Songs That I Loved in 2012

The music that I listen to change drastically everyday. These changes can be influenced by events, experiences, and emotions. Other times, I just come across a particular song by random chance and instantly fall in love with its melody and lyrics.

Those are other factors that affect my musical tastes: melody and lyrics. We also have instrumentation, delivery, performance, and of course, the artist singing the song.

The songs I will mention below are not absolute favorites, but just some of those that were released, listened to, and learned this year. I will be posting the titles and the artists, along with links to YouTube videos that have these songs. If ever you don’t know any of these, you can listen to them on YouTube. I’ll do it this way because eight is a large number for YouTube videos on a single blog post. 😛

Beauty and a Beat by Justin Bieber ft. Nicki Minaj
Music Video
I love the play on words on this song. It has a tender quality to it, specially in the chorus. I think this would make for a sweet moment if I sing this to a girl.

Call Me Maybe by Carly Rae Jepsen
Music Video
I’m also swayed by music trends, of which this is an example. 😛

Huling Sayaw by Kamikaze ft. Kyla
Music Video | Acoustic Version
I love Kyla’s voice. I love Kamikaze’s rock. Combine the two and that’s my eargasm!

I’ll Be There by Julie Anne San Jose
Music Video
The singing style of JAPS (Julie Anne P. San Jose) is so refreshing! I love her ad libs and the inflections she throws into the songs she sings. She is known as the Princes of Rhythm in the Philippines.

I Will Always Love You by Whitney Houston
Music Video | Dubai Fountains Video
This is an old song, I know. But it did make a comeback this year when Whitney Houston passed away in the first quarter. May her soul be now at peace. I particularly loved the Dubai Fountains synced to this song.

Payphone by Maroon 5 ft. Wiz Khalifa
Lyric Video
I love this song’s melody and the lyrics that say, “If happy ever after did exist, I would still be holding you like this …”

Sing for Me by Christina Aguilera
Audio Video
I was instantly drawn into this song’s message. This was one of those songs that, although not a single, I searched for and eagerly listened to as soon as the Lotus album came out. I wasn’t disappointed. I do hope this would become Aguilera’s next single and a music video for this song would be released.

XGF by Sponge Cola (with Chito Miranda and Los Magno)
Music Video
I’ve always been a fan of Sponge Cola. When I heard that they were doing a song with Chito Miranda, the vocalist of Parokya ni Edgar, I was instantly curious to listen to their collaboration. I love it! To translate the first line of the chorus, “Your ex-girlfriend is now my girlfriend! Wait a minute, this is kinda awkward!”

~

This blog post was inspired by the following blogging prompt. Click on the “via” link to learn more about and participate in this set of blogging prompts.

Let’s start another project/challenge now, shall we? One that will look back at the year that was. One that will look forward to the one that is to come. One that will spread warm and fuzzy feelings all around. In the span of 12 blog entries. Anyone want to sing a round of “12 Days of Christmas” with me?

12 Drummers Drummin: 12 lessons you’ve learned from 2012.

11 Pipers Piping: 11 highlights from each of the 11 months that have passed.

10 Lords-a-leaping: 10 men who have made a significant impact on your life this year.

9 Ladies Dancing: 9 women who have made a significant impact on your life this year.

8 Maids-a-milking: 8 songs about 2012.

via Fire Potion « sketches and scribbles (reloaded).

Cheers!

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

2 thoughts on “Eight Songs That I Loved in 2012”

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

