Men Who Inspired Me This 2012

I’m supposed to blog about ten men who made a significant impact on my life this 2012. The problem is, I can’t really think of ten guys who had profound influences on me and my life this year. Most of what I did in 2012, or what I do in my life for that matter, are usually initiated by me. I find the motivation and inspiration to keep doing what I’m doing from within me. With that, I really just can’t think of any masculine encouragement personification.

I know what you’re thinking: “How about his father?” He passed away two years ago — this post is about people in 2012, so he’s out.

Despite that dilemma  I can come up with a list of ten men who have inspired me, immensely or to some extent, to do what I do at present. Some are real persons while others are fictional. Here they are:

  1. Fr. Abner Dalilis. He made me realize that being “religious” and “God-fearing” don’t necessarily connote “strict” and “being rigid”. He was one lighthearted priest who served in the San Jose Parish for quite a while; he is now a parish priest in Kapangan.
  2. Apay Gamin. His artistry in photography impresses me. It also inspires me to be a photographer-hobbyist on my own. His post-processing workflow is one that I aspire to do; his composition is one that I can relate with. You can visit his portfolio on Flickr.
  3. Fr. Benedict Castañeda. If Fr. Dalilis is lighthearted, then we can arguably say that Fr. Castañeda is his serious counterpart. But despite that, he has a delightful side. I am impressed by his conviction that he injects in his priestly work. Most of all, I am inspired by the amount of dedication he puts in — no backing down!
  4. Bruce Wayne (The Dark Knight Rises). This year saw the end of the Batman trilogy directed by Christopher Nolan. It is in this final sequel that I came to appreciate Bruce Wayne / Batman’s character. The trials he went through, mostly with himself, inspired me  a lot because it’s a great representation of the “fall and flight of the human spirit”.
  5. Hercule Poirot. I continued reading Agatha Christie, particularly Hercule Poirot’s cases, this year. Once again, I was astounded by this fictional detective’s intelligence and deduction skills that I want to improve my mental abilities.
  6. Jack Frost (Rise of the Guardians). I related to Jack Frost on the ground of “discovering who you are” and “what you were meant to do”. His movie is probably the only Christmas- or holiday-themed movie I will see this year. As I said in this post, Rise of the Guardians was the first movie I saw this year but apparently, NOT! I remembered seeing The Dark Knight Rises sometime in the summer (or I dunno!); I just didn’t blog about it then.
  7. Jermaine Paul. He is the winner of The Voice (U.S.) Season 2. I watched his final performance, a cover of “I Believe I Can Fly” and I was extremely moved. The emotion he put into the song, coupled with his background story made me teary-eyed.
  8. Natsu Dragneel. I was introduced to the animé, Fairy Tail this year and seeing Natsu and his antics just made me feel like a kid. His childish and care-free but thoughtless behavior made me want to relive the kid in me.
  9. Fr. Vincent Giovanni Wacas. I once joined a choir group tasked to sing for his fifth sacerdotal (anniversary of priestly ordination). I was inspired by the support of his family and friends on his decision to be a priest. It just goes to show how much people still revere the highly spiritual life.
  10. Vincent Tabor. I met him this year through social media, mainly on Facebook and through blogging. I also met him in person during the first Baguio Blog Conference this year and the Baguio Bloggers Society. His dedication and firm conviction in social media got me revved up to maintain my presence in the social media world.

~

This post was inpired by the following blog post prompt. Click on the “via” link to learn about and participate in this blog prompt.

Let’s start another project/challenge now, shall we? One that will look back at t he year that was. One that will look forward to the one that is to come. One that will spread warm and fuzzy feelings all around. In the span of 12 blog entries. Anyone want to sing a round of “12 Days of Christmas” with me?

12 Drummers Drummin: 12 lessons you’ve learned from 2012.

11 Pipers Piping: 11 highlights from each of the 11 months that have passed.

10 Lords-a-leaping: 10 men who have made a significant impact on your life this year.

via Fire Potion « sketches and scribbles (reloaded).

Cheers!

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

2 thoughts on “Men Who Inspired Me This 2012”

  1. Omg I was searching for Sir Vincent Tabor’s Blog site and it lead me to your page, he was my instructor when I was in High school and always makes us write 500 words for every blog. He’s the main reason why we started with WordPress 😀 he’s the best! He pushes you to your limits and even beyond it 🙂

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

