Pronouncing “Wreath”

So I’ve been on the lookout for attractive Christmas wreaths for our home. It never occurred to me until recently, that I have been pronouncing the word, “wreath” wrong all this time — all 25 years of it!

It’s ironic that I can spell it correctly but fail at its pronunciation. 😀

The pronunciation of “wreath” that I know is /reth/, which is obviously wrong. Most of the people who I know also pronounce it the same way, which didn’t help things also. So how did I awoken the right pronunciation of the word? Well, my friend was also looking for a wreath and she suddenly blurted the correct pronunciation, /reeth/. I was taken aback for a second, but regained my composure.

“What did you say?” I asked.

“Wreath (reeth)” she said.

From then on, I corrected the way I pronounced the word. To allay my doubts, I consulted my computer’s dictionary. The pronunciation key was written, but there was no accompanying audio file for it. 😦

Thank goodness, though for YouTube! I typed “wreath pronunciation” in the search box and BOOM! Here’s what I got:

Hope this post helps all those who also thought that “wreath” was pronounced as /reth/. LOL! 😀

Cheers to all!

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

