A “Smartphone” That is “More Camera”

Lately, I’ve been on the look-out for a camera. Actually, I’m wishing for a Digital Single-Lens Reflex (DSLR) camera, but those cost a lot. That is why that particular purchase would be for a future schedule. Right now, I’m looking for a simple digital camera that can also take great-looking videos.

I should probably be looking at the ever popular point-and-shoot cameras, but I want more features and camera-tweaking to fine-tune the photos I would like to take.

There are cameras that have features similar to DSLR’s BUT without the signature mirror of DSLR’s thus: mirrorless cameras. What attracted me to these types of cameras is their ability to change lenses, just like DSLR’s. Looks tempting actually, but their prices put me off. For a few bucks more, I could get an entry-level DSLR! What am I to do?

Recently, I discovered the Samsung Galaxy Camera. It’s much like a point-and-shoot and cannot change lenses. However, its fixed lens is a wide-angle lens with 21x optical zoom and a sensor of 1/2.3″. Just right for everyday captures.

But that’s not all: it also has connectivity and web browsing abilities just like a smartphone! Watch this video:

It’s not a smartphone, per se. From what I gather, it just has connectivity options like WiFi and HSPA+. It cannot make and receive calls. I’m not sure if it’s capable of Short Messaging Service (SMS), though — it can use chat services or applications as shown in the video.

What I would really like to see by own eyes is its video-recording capability. If the slow-motion capture is that great (it’s not in HD :() and it captures great-looking videos, then I’m sold! With the WiFi connectivity, uploading videos or vlogs to YouTube would be easier than ever!

Hopefully, the Samsung Galaxy Camera will be released here in the Philippines. 🙂

Source

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

One thought on “A “Smartphone” That is “More Camera””

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

