Kudos: 7 Eleven Lower Session Refuses Alcoholic Drinks to Minors

So on my way home last night, I stopped by a 7 Eleven store on Lower Session Rd., Baguio City to buy some batteries. It was beside the cashier so I immediately fell in line. I was the second in line; two girls were in front of me. I didn’t pay much attention to their purchases at first; but then, I looked in front to see what the hold-up was.

Two light alcoholic drinks. I guessed the cashier asked for the girls’ ages and probably said that they were 16 or 17. I don’t know what was taking so long to refuse the girls their purchases but I assumed they asked the cashier to overlook their ages. There was a bit of hesitation and the cashier, a guy, actually consulted the store manager. The manage left the decision-making to the cashier. Some silence. The cashier was obviously uncomfortable but still composed. The girls kept saying, “Hala …” and kept looking at their cellphones as a coping mechanism. I could tell they were doing it on purpose since I was behind them and I could tell that they definitely weren’t doing anything on their phones.

Alas, the drama that unfolded before my eyes ended with the cashier refusing to take the girls’ purchases. They quickly left. I took the next spot for the counter and proceeded immediately with purchasing batteries and acted like nothing happened: we need to get on with life and not waste time. 😛

As for those two girls: Even light drinks, such as the ones you attempted to buy have alcohol content and are not suitable for individuals your age. You may argue that you’re grown up now and can take in these light drinks but more often than not, one thing can lead to another. I have female friends older than you and they get tipsy or “a little drunk” from taking in just one bottle of those drinks you wanted. What more for you two? Drunk minors aren’t a pretty sight for you, your friends, and specially your families. Don’t waste time and risk embarrassment at a 24/7 store attempting to buy alcoholic drinks. You do know that these are not for minors. And, you do realize you’re minors, yes? Other stores may allow you to buy these drinks, but I do hope you’d learn not to return to these stores after your experience. Skip trying to be daring by attempting “poisons”; not worth it in the long run. Take it from someone who knows.

Cheers!

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

