Going Through Another Block

scribes-express-renovationI believe every blogger goes through a stage of hiatus caused by a variety of reasons. Sort of like writer’s block (Blogger’s block?).

As you may have guessed, yes I am going through such a stage. True, I’ve been posting every other day since last month but to be honest, it’s gotten less fulfilling. I look back at my recently published blog posts, and all I see are “filler posts” and “recycled content.” Personally, I don’t like it when I publish extensively shared content, reblogs, quotations, syndicated media, and the like. In short, I try to stay away from unoriginal content.

Then again, what can a blogger do when he runs out of original content ideas?

As you may have guessed again, yeah I’m taking some time off from blogging. But that doesn’t mean that I won’t be visible online—I’ll still be reading my RSS feeds, visiting various blogs, commenting, discussing, whatever. I just won’t be posting for now.

Yet again, you’ve probably guessed that this blog will be undergoing an overhaul. When I put up this blog with its blog name, I forgot to do the most basic thing that bloggers do regarding blog names: Running a Google search. Imagine my surprise when, just last week, I ran a Google search with the keywords, “scribe’s express.” There, on the first search return page, popped Express Scribe: A transcription software.

So far, I haven’t received any legal letters from the company who developed said software. (When two online names/brands have the same words within, one of them would have to consider renaming. That’s just the way it is with branding). But why take chances?

Yes, you guessed right, I will be renaming this blog. I’m just not sure yet: Buying a custom domain or moving to another WordPress.com sub-domain. Don’t worry, I’ll keep you posted as soon as I’ve fixed things.

Finally, I will be reviewing my blogging vision and goals and see where I am now at this stage. I would most probably need to make drastic changes to keep within specifics, but at least, in that way, I won’t run out of original content ideas.

So no new posts for now. As I said earlier, I’ll still be visiting other bloggers’ sites and leaving comments all over.

Thanks very much!

Cheers!

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

18 thoughts on “Going Through Another Block”

  1. Yes Dude. That software is express scribe. and i’m using it when transcribing a file. heheh…

    and yeah right, everyone goes that phase. just keep that blogging spirit na lang.. no rules naman e in blogging. you can blog whatever you want… 🙂

    1. Hey Richard!

      Going on a break from blog-posting has done wonders for my sked! I no longer feel compelled to keep the blogsite updated, which would otherwise compromise real-life activities. I’ll be posting again soon . . . I’m just brushing up some things.

      Thanks very much for the encouragement!

      Cheers!

    1. Hey callcenterguy!

      Yeah, sometimes I think it’s the pressure that comes with having to publish a post that discourages from continuing to blog. So, a period of rest and “non-posting” is in order. 😀

      Cheers!

  2. yeah, i noticed something different on the tone of your blog entries.
    anyway, i launched an advocacy and i hope that it could make its way here t your blog. it would mean a lot!! sa totoo lang, hehe
    salamat!!

    1. Hey Barry!

      Yeah. But then again, I’d like to be more specific but not too much. One downside of sticking to a specific bogging goal or vision is that you couldn’t blog about anything other than what you have imposed on yourself to blog about. See, there will be times when you would want to make a blog post but it just doesn’t fit into your blogging vision thus, you are frustrated at not being able to publish it.

      I’ll just take some time off and hopefully by then, I’d have fresh material on-hand.

      Thanks for dropping by!

      Cheers!

  3. I guess everyone goes through this phase. You just run out of things to blog about, and when you are finally able to tap onto some fresh material, you just decide to do an overhaul. Good luck and see you around!

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

