“(To) Make You Feel My Love” by Kelly Clarkson

I haven’t published any blog posts for the Music category for almost five months. I just wasn’t into music then. I didn’t buy any new records, didn’t listen to my digital music library . . . I haven’t even been listening to the radio!

Which then marks the discovery of this song as the redemption of my love for music.

I discovered this song in mp3 format on the downloads folder of a PC unit I was renting at an Internet cafe. I have the habit of browsing through the saved documents, downloads, and Internet histories of public PCs out of curiosity of what web surfers are into these days.

Apparently, this nosy habit made me discover a song that I probably would have played on my wedding day.

I love this song! I can’t get it off my mind. I was at peace with the piano accompaniment; coupled with heart-endearing lyrics, and I already died. The fact that it was sung by Kelly Clarkson, one of my music favorites, was a bonus. There’s just something in Clarkson’s voice that makes the songs that she sings so delicious to listen to, in whatever genre they may be. She’s a multi-format singer with a fast vibrato.

Nevertheless, Clarkson’s interpretation is a mere cover. The song was originally written and recorded by Bob Dylan for his Time Out of Mind album. Other artists, like Billy Joel, Garth Brooks, and Adele, have also recorded the song—all of their interpretations were hits. I was delighted to find that Kris Allen also sang the song on American Idol. I guess I missed that episode.

Anyway, I still go for Kelly Clarkson’s rendition; however, I do appreciate those of Garth Brooks and Kris Allen’s.

I am now using this song as my alarm tune on my new phone (for another blog post). It feels great listening to such a mellow sound the instant you wake up. I awake at 4:00AM (Too early, I know.) and I keep listening to it while staring into the distance of the morning twilight. It makes me feel evenly at peace all throughout the day. I tell you, listening to soothing music in the wee hours of the morning—at twilight or just before dawn—will make you feel light . . .

.

.

.

. . . so light that you could possibly go back to sleep.

Here are the lyrics:

(To) Make You Feel My Love
Cover by Kelly Clarkson
Originally written and sung by Bob Dylan

When the rain is blowing in your face
And the whole world is on your case
I would offer you a warm embrace
To make you feel my love

When evening shadows and the stars appear
And there is no one to dry your tears
I could hold you for a million years
To make you feel my love

I know you haven’t made your mind up yet
I would never do you wrong
I’ve known it from the moment that we met
There’s no doubt in my mind where you belong

I’d go hungry, I’d go black and blue
I’d go crawling down the avenue
There ain’t nothing that I wouldn’t do
To make you feel my love

The storms of rage are rolling wild and free
Down the highway of regret
The wind of change is blowing wild and free
But you ain’t seen nothing like me yet

There ain’t nothing that I wouldn’t do
Go to the ends of the Earth for you
Make you happy make your dreams come true
To make you feel my love

To make you feel my love

This blog post was written by Rogue|Hero. [Scribe's Express — Copyright 2010]

Bookmark and Share this Scribe's Express blog post!
Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

2 thoughts on ““(To) Make You Feel My Love” by Kelly Clarkson”

  1. Do you know the CD album name of the Kelly Clarkson’s version, ive been searching on the web but all i get is Adele’s and Dylans. If you could email it me i would be very grateful.

    1. Hi David!

      I think this song was never released on any Kelly Clarkson CD. I believe she just recorded it and just let it be released on the web. Try searching for links to the individual song instead.

      Thanks for visiting my blog site!

      Cheers!

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

