I Went to a Party, Mom

I read the following literary piece from The Philippine Star years ago, when I was still in sophomore high school. I shared the piece on our campus paper, and now, I am sharing it with you.

Note: I went around the Internet. Apparently, the author is unknown.

This poem left a lasting impression on me, which could account for why I don’t drink too much. (Okay, so I drink. At least, I don’t do so until I’m wasted.)

I do hope you will find inspiration within this literary piece:

I went to a party, and remembered what you said.
You told me not to drink, mom, so I had a soda instead.
I felt proud of myself, the way you said I would
That I didn’t drink and drive, though some friends said I should.

I made a healthy choice and your advice to me was right,
The party finally ended and the kids drove out of sight.
I got into my car, sure to get home in one piece,
I never knew what was coming, mom, something I expected least.

Now I’m lying on the pavement and I hear the policeman say,
“The kid that caused this wreck was drunk,” his voice seems far away.
My own blood’s all around me, as I try hard not to cry.
I can hear the paramedic say, “This girl is going to die.”

I’m sure the guy had no idea while he was flying high,
Because he chose to drink and drive, now, I would have to die.
So why do people do it, mom, knowing that it ruins lives?
And now the pain is cutting me, like a hundred stabbing knives.

Tell sister not to be afraid, mom; tell daddy to be brave.
And when I get to heaven, put “Daddy’s Girl” on my grave.
Someone should have taught him that it’s wrong to drink and drive.
Maybe if his parents had, I would still be alive.

My breath is getting shorter, mom, I’m getting really scared.
These are my final moments and I’m so unprepared.
I wish that you could hold me, mom, as I lie here and die.
I wish that I could say “I love you, mom,” so I love you and goodbye.

Please. Don’t drink and drive. Just . . . please, have some consideration for others and for your self.

Credit:

Image:

  1. Glass of alcohol and car keys: Drunk and Drifting: How Alcohol Affects Mind Wandering | Psychology Today [http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/ulterior-motives/200906/drunk-and-drifting-how-alcohol-affects-mind-wandering]

This blog post was written by Rogue|Hero. [Scribe's Express — Copyright 2010]

Bookmark and Share this Scribe's Express blog post!
Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

3 thoughts on “I Went to a Party, Mom”

  1. Beautiful poem you posted. My son actually killed another person because of his terrible decision to drink and drive. He thought he was invincible but was sadly mistaken. You can check out his story on video at http://www.themattmaherstory.com. He has given several presentations (36 schools, over 7K students) to kids and the response has been overwhelming. We receive letters from kids can relate and wrote decided NOT to drink and drive because of Matt’s message. These accidents are 100% avoidable.

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

