My life is in a rut (and there’s no hope in sight!).

Happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me, happy birthday, happy birthday, happy birthday to me!

Right.

In my last birthday, I felt <a title="Dejection at 22 <dejected. Now, I’m in the pits. I embraced this year with a hope that everything will turn out for the better. So far, I lost a lot.

I lost my father barely at the beginning of the year. I lost six other relatives after my father’s death within a span of just five months. Suspicious of these deaths, I considered that the rapture (mystical transportation in Christian beliefs) may already be happening.

>]” />

Afterwards, I started receiving lesser writing opportunities from the two companies I am employed in. This resulted in less income, which can be the equivalent of being jobless. Apparently, SEO article writing is getting a huge blow because of the refinement of search engines’ filters. Businesses are now cutting off SEO article writers because they’re seemingly becoming useless. Great. Google, Yahoo!, and MSN have discovered a way to get richer and make more people poorer.

Then, I lost a girl—my beloved cell phone—named Charity. She was a lovely and dependable Nokia 6230i. She stood out amidst high-end mobile phones, feature phones, and smartphones. The worst part here is, I don’t know how she got “lost”—fell out, stolen and raped, or just ran away from me.

And then I lost another girl. Oh, we weren’t in a relationship, but I was about to go there. Long story short, she got into something bad. Good for me.

Lastly, I lost a cat. His name was Knuckles. I didn’t know his cause of death. We didn’t get along very well.

So for the first half of the year, I lost eight human beings (seven physically and one relationship-wise), two jobs, one gadget, and one animal.

So far, so good.

I couldn’t believe it! You know the saying where it says that everyone’s life starts with a full bag of luck and an empty bag of experience, and you’re supposed to fill up the bag of experience before your bag of luck empties? Well, my luck ran out and I got an overflowing bag of experience. They’re all useless.

When I was younger, I regarded the early and mid 20s of a person’s life as the years of fun and fancy-free enjoyment. How could I have been so naïve? They’re actually years of depression. They have a diagnosis similar to the depressive state experienced by persons in middle age. It’s called early-life crisis.

If life was like a box of chocolates (in which case, you never know what you’re ‘gonna get), why do I keep getting sour candy?

If life’s a dance (in which case, you learn as you go), what am I doing outside of the dance floor?

If life is just a bowl of cherries, why do I keep getting the rotten ones?

It has been said that difficulties help develop character. I’ve got a ton of character and waning amounts of patience and endurance. When will it all stop?

Who am I kidding? Of course it’ll never stop!

So here I am, awaiting more problems and bad fortunes with pride. I just can’t wait what the next half of the year will bring about.

How thrilling!

Cheers!

P.S.: I’m now 23.

Credits:

Content:

  • … life was like a box of chocolates (in which case, you never know what you’re ‘gonna get)…: A line from the 1994 movie, Forrest Gump.
  • …life’s a dance (in which case, you learn as you go)…: A lyric from the country song, Life’s A Dance sung by John Michael Montgomery & written by Allen Shamblin and Steve Seskin.
  • …life is just a bowl of cherries…: A popular proverb meaning everything in life is carefree and going well.

 

Happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me, happy birthday, happy birthday, happy birthday to me!

Right.

In my last birthday, I felt dejected. Now, I’m in the pits. I embraced this year with a hope that everything will turn out for the better. So far, I lost a lot.

I lost my father barely at the beginning of the year. I lost six other relatives after my father’s death within a span of just five months. Suspicious of these deaths, I considered that the rapture (mystical transportation in Christian beliefs) may already be happening.

Afterwards, I started receiving lesser writing opportunities from the two companies I am employed in. This resulted in less income, which can be the equivalent of being jobless. Apparently, SEO article writing is getting a huge blow because of the refinement of search engines’ filters. Businesses are now cutting off SEO article writers because they’re seemingly becoming useless. Great. Google, Yahoo!, and MSN have discovered a way to get richer and make more people poorer.

Then, I lost a girl—my beloved cell phone—named Charity. She was a lovely and dependable Nokia 6230i. She stood out amidst high-end mobile phones, feature phones, and smartphones. The worst part here is, I don’t know how she got “lost”—fell out, stolen and raped, or just ran away from me.

And then I lost another girl. Oh, we weren’t in a relationship, but I was about to go there. Long story short, she got into something bad. Good for me.

Lastly, I lost a cat. His name was Knuckles. I didn’t know his cause of death. We didn’t get along very well.

So for the first half of the year, I lost eight human beings (seven physically and one relationship-wise), two jobs, one gadget, and one animal.

So far, so good.

I couldn’t believe it! You know the saying where it says that everyone’s life starts with a full bag of luck and an empty bag of experience, and you’re supposed to fill up the bag of experience before your bag of luck empties? Well, my luck ran out and I got an overflowing bag of experience. They’re all useless.

When I was younger, I regarded the early and mid 20s of a person’s life as the years of fun and fancy-free enjoyment. How could I have been so naïve? They’re actually years of depression. They have a diagnosis similar to the depressive state experienced by persons in middle age. It’s called early-life crisis.

If life was like a box of chocolates (in which case, you never know what you’re ‘gonna get), why do I keep getting sour candy?

If life’s a dance (in which case, you learn as you go), what am I doing outside of the dance floor?

If life is just a bowl of cherries, why do I keep getting the rotten ones?

It has been said that difficulties help develop character. I’ve got a ton of character and waning amounts of patience and endurance. When will it all stop?

Who am I kidding? Of course it’ll never stop!

So here I am, awaiting more problems and bad fortunes with pride. I just can’t wait what the next half of the year will bring about. How thrilling!

Credits:

Content:

… life was like a box of chocolates (in which case, you never know what you’re ‘gonna get)…: A line from the 1994 movie, Forrest Gump.

…life’s a dance (in which case, you learn as you go)…: A lyric from the country song, Life’s A Dance sung by John Michael Montgomery & written by Allen Shamblin and Steve Seskin.

…life is just a bowl of cherries…: A popular proverb meaning everything in life is carefree and going well.

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

5 thoughts on “My life is in a rut (and there’s no hope in sight!).”

  1. better be late than never.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, bro! God bless you.

    Keep the fire burning, Rogue. Throw in more coal. Never rest..

    …”Seeing the break of the new dawn regardless of the circumstances that failed in the nightfall.”

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

