Column: Post Elections

The Coverage

I applaud GMA-7 for their exceptional coverage of the 2010 Philippine election. Their coverage was on-air most of the time to ensure that updates immediately got through to the viewers. As always, they were professional in their reporting. They presented various problems or encounters during the elections in real-time. They even risked their lives to present the low-down during noted occurrences of election-related violence.

Their use of advanced gadgetry also pleased me—touchscreens, holograms, iPads, the works! Congratulations to GMA News and Public Affairs for a job well done!

For First-Time Voters

Welcome to the world of the electorate! This is how we let our desire for a better society be heard. Actually, you guys are lucky—it’s your first time to vote and you get to experience it the automated way.

>]” />

I hardly remember my first time to vote, but I do remember the event: Sangguniang Kabataan elections. Yes, it wasn’t as high-profile as the government elections, but it did introduce me to the world of casting one’s votes. When I turned 18 in 2006, I immediately registered with the COMELEC, which then enabled me to vote in the 2007 election. Writing names on the ballot definitely took much time. There are also risks of spelling out your choices’ names wrong, or writing an unofficial name or alias of the candidate— both of which rendered your vote uncounted.

You really are lucky to have started out things the easier way.

My Bet Isn’t Going to Win

He has conceded. Now what? Wait for the proclamation. Accept it. And hope that the incoming leader will satisfy.

After casting my vote last May 10, I was actually worried that my presidential choice wouldn’t win. I was worried because I admired his capabilities. I was worried because I share with his approach to various national problems. I was worried because he had the platform—the ideas—that I would like to see in Philippine society.

I was worried that he might not win out of fear that I wouldn’t see his qualifications in action.

The worst part of my worries is, my fear came true.

It’s a majority vote, what can I do? I was sure that he’d have a fighting chance, but lo and behold, he didn’t even get to the second spot. Even if he didn’t win, at least I believed in his qualifications to the end.

Don’t you just hate it when underdogs don’t win? I guess that’s why they’re called underdogs.

Personally, I find it difficult to submit to the election outcome. That’s six years of my life under a president I didn’t choose, an I aspirant I didn’t like. I might as well get out of the country and live somewhere else for six years.

*sigh* Bitter as I may be, I do hope I could come to accept the winner as my leader and share with how he will run the country.

Minorities of the Electorate

Now that I think about it, what happens to the members of the electorate whose choices don’t win? What happens to us, the minority of the supposed “voice of the nation?” I guess we just have to submit to the results, though at times, with disappointment.

The Election System

The recent election leads me to reflect on the Philippine election system: The majority vote. I have read on this month’s For Him Magazine (FHM) Philippines an article describing this system as very simple, but not really the best.

This is popular voting, and uneducated voters take it literally and vote for the most popular candidate sometimes.

So true: Because of this system, some ineffective personalities have filled up the Philippine presidential seat. It’s a popularity contest, as I had blogged before, similar to reality competitions. Even if a particular aspirant possesses the requirements to be leader, if he isn’t that popular (i.e., a low-profile leader), he will never win. Those who make it into office are those who are favorably affiliated with other personalities, or those who go by a famous and publicly-applauded surname.

Personally, I think the Philippine electoral system needs to be revised. It’s very simple but does not render the best results.

Underdog

I still can’t get over the loss of my presidential bet. It’s really disheartening when a dark horse doesn’t come out victorious.

Heck, he wasn’t in any political scandal, he practiced clean campaigning, and sold himself by presenting his achievements. It’s a shame people don’t know what he did to ensure nation-wide social stability and protection of foreign employment orders. They don’t understand his ideas and that he trusts the public to know that he isn’t a puppet of the government. Anyhow, he accepted his defeat gracefully with a superb speech; he rendered support for the president-apparent; and is hoping that the country will head into a better direction.

*sigh*

I just find hope in the statements of other supporters that there’s a next time; that he can run again for president in 2016. I pray that until then, he will have the same ideas for the country, he will not be corrupted, and his intelligence will remain at an excellent level.

Credits:

Content

  • This is popular…: ANON. 2010. “The Vote” For Him Magazine (FHM) Philippines, May issue.

Image

  • GMA-7 Eleksyon 2010: Dashboard – Eleksyon 2010 – GMANews.TV [http://www.gmanews.tv/eleksyon2010/map/dashboard]
Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

2 thoughts on “Column: Post Elections”

  1. The Coverage: I beg to disagree. ABS CBN did an exceptional coverage. They used original hologram (unlike GMA, fake. camera-click).

    For 1st time Voters: Count me in! Well, what an experience! I kept my cool for the nth time.

    My bet isn’t going to win: Same here. Tsk tsk tsk. Villar isn’t going to win. I stand firm in my belief that he will be a Senate President. Go, Binay! 6 of my senators made it to the top 12 (as of this comment).

    Underdog: Who’s that mushroom? 🙂

    1. Hey Richard!

      The Coverage: I don’t think GMA did a fake hologram, since it was powered by Vizrt, the same software company that enabled CNN to do the same hologram coverage during the last US Presidential elections. Sure, there was some tweaks (like the platform stand) which made it look like a superimposed recorded video, but that’s just aesthetics. And, the reporters who were hologram-ed were reacting live and in real time.

      First-Time Voters: Hopefully, future elections would be more organized.

      My Bet Isn’t Going to Win: Well, like the presidential aspirants who conceded, we should also accept our choices’ defeat and gracefully accept and work under the newly-elect.

      Underdog: That’s for me to know. And that’s that. 😀 No one knows my choices for the various government positions–not even my family. 😀

      Cheers!

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

