12 Pains of Christmas

Post Christmas. Less than six days to the new year. And, it’s the last Saturday of 2009. Wow…

Everybody’s tired from all the partying from last night, but my partying was on the night of the 24th up to the early hours of yesterday.

Now, a question hit me real hard: What is the exact time of the supposed birthday of Jesus Christ? Is it after the midnight of the 24th (meaning in the morning of the 25th), or on the night of the 25th? I might be celebrating HIS birthday at the wrong time!

Anyway, I was listening to 96.7 K-Lite, the number one radio station in Baguio City (KBP-recognized), and they suddenly aired this song. I thought it was so cute and hilarious that I had to download it and share it with you guys:

12 Pains of Christmas

by Weird Al Yankovic

The first thing at Christmas that’s such a pain to me:
is finding a Christmas tree.

The second thing at Christmas that’s such a pain to me:
Rigging up the lights.
And finding a Christmas tree.

The third thing at Christmas that’s such a pain to me:
Hangovers…
Rigging up the lights.
And finding a Christmas tree.

The fourth thing at Christmas that’s such a pain to me:
Sending Christmas cards.
Hangovers…
Rigging up the lights.
And finding a Christmas tree.

The fifth thing at Christmas that’s such a pain to me:
Five months of bills!
Sending Christmas cards.
Hangovers…
Rigging up the lights!
And finding a Christmas tree.

The sixth thing at Christmas that’s such a pain to me:
Facing my in-laws!
Five months of bills!
Oh! I hate those Christmas cards!
Hangovers…
Rigging up THESE LIGHTS!
And finding a Christmas tree.

The seventh thing at Christmas that’s such a pain to me:
Salvation army.
Facing my in-laws!
Five months of bills!
Sending Christmas cards…
Oh jeez!
I”m tryin’ to rig up these lights!!
And finding a Christmas tree.

The eighth thing at Christmas that’s such a pain to me:
I want transformer …for Christmas!
Charities! …and whaddaya mean YOUR in-laws!?
Five months of bills!
Ugh! Making out these cards!
Uh, ya just get me a beer huh?
What!? We have NO extension cords!?
And finding a Christmas tree.

The ninth thing at Christmas that’s such a pain to me:
Finding parking spaces!
Daddy I want some candy!
Donations!
Facing my in-laws!
Five months of bills!
Writing out those Christmas cards!
Hangovers!
NOW WHY THE HELL ARE THEY BLINKING!!?
And finding a Christmas tree.

The tenth thing at Christmas that’s such a pain to me:
Batteries not included?
No parking spaces!
Buy me something!
Get a job ya bum!
Oh, facing my in-laws!
Five months of bills!
Yo-ho! Sending Christmas cards!
Oh jeez! Look at this!
One light goes out, THEY ALL GO OUT!!
And finding a Christmas tree.

The eleventh thing at Christmas that’s such a pain to me:
Stale TV specials…!
Batteries not included?
No parking spaces!
Mom, I gotta go to bathroom!
Charities!
She’s a witch I hate her!
Five months of bills!
Oh, I don’t even know half these people!
Oh, who’s got the toilet paper? Huh?
Turn a flashlight I BLEW A FUSE!!
And finding a Christmas tree.

The twelfth thing at Christmas that’s such a pain to me:
Singing Christmas carols.
Stale TV specials.
Batteries not included?
No parking?
(child crying)
Charities…!
Gotta make ’em dinner!
Five months of bills!
I’m not sending ’em this year, that’s it!
Shut up you!
Fine!! You’re so smart!! YOU RIG UP THE LIGHTS!!
And finding a Christmas tree.

I love the reactions of the guy who’s “rigging up the lights!” “One light goes out, THEY ALL GO OUT!” People with short tempers are just hilarious! LOL!!! 😀

Now, speaking of K-Lite, they also released their DJ’s choice of Christmas songs:

25. Happy Christmas, War is Over
24. Kumukuti-kutitap by Various Artists
23. Let It Snow by Bing Crosby
22. A Perfect Christmas by Jose Mari Chan
21. The Chipmunk Song (Christmas Don’t Be Late) by Alvin and the Chipmunks
20. White Christmas by Michael Bublé
19. Santa Clause is Coming to Town
18. I’ll Be Home for Christmas by Michael Bublé
17.
16. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas by Christina Aguilera
15. I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Clause by the Jackson 5
14. My Only Wish (This Year) by Britney Spears
13. Give Love on Christmas Day by the Jackson 5
12. Christmas in Our Hearts by Jose Mari Chan
11. The Christmas Song by Christina Aguilera
10. Sana Ngayong Pasko by Ariel Rivera
9. Merry Christmas, Darling by Kitchie Nadal
8. Last Christmas by Collie Wilson
7. 8 Days of Christmas by Destiny’s Child
6. Christmas Party by Eraserheads
5. Pasko Na Sinta Ko by Gary Valenciano
4. My Grown Up Christmas List by Monica
3. Jingle Bell Rock by Hilary Duff
2. Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree by Miley Cyrus
1. All I Want for Christmas is You by Mariah Carey

Info for numbers 17-25 are lacking ’cause I turned on the radio late. There was a recap, but it was fast, I wasn’t able to get everything on paper.

But anyway…

It’s good to know that old Christmas songs by Jose Mari Chan and the Jackson 5 are still out there despite the influx of contemporary tunes. I always believe that if a song—it’s arrangement, lyrics, etc.—is so damn good, it’ll be around forever. As always, there are the “sad Christmas songs” like Sana Ngayong Pasko, Pasko Na Sinta Ko, and My Only Wish (This Year). I always listen to My Only Wish; I’m not a Britney Spears fan, but this particular song of hers is just so sad despite the lively accompaniment. Also, I didn’t know that Kitchie Nadal recorded a Christmas song. Her version of The Carpenters classic, Merry Christmas, Darling sounds very 70s or 80s—don’t get me wrong, it sounds terrific! As always, Mariah Carey tops the Christmas song list again… and again… and again… Her song has become a staple during the holidays, year in and out.

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

