The Candlemaker: An Old Christmas Cartoon

I miss old Christmas cartoons. I remember my younger years when I would watch different cartoons portraying the holiday season on GMA-7 and ABS-CBN. I just love the 2D simplicity, the fading color, the simple sketches, and the drawing style that was very distinctive back then. Today, cartoons are bright in color, are focused more on comedy (rather than on worthwhile messages or lessons), and are mostly rendered in 3D. Not to discourage these animated series, but in my honest opinion, cartoons back then were more worthwhile. That’s why I’m thankful to YouTube for making some of my most missed cartoons from the olden days available for viewing and sharing now.

Like the following cartoon entitled, The Candlemaker, produced and directed by John Halas and Joy Batchelor. I was probably seven or eight years old when I first saw this, and it definitely reinforces my outlook on what Christmas should be–family, simplicity, authenticity, and a season full of meaning.

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

