PDN (Private Duty Nurse) in Black

From Friday last week (13 November 2009) up to Wednesday this week (18 November 2009), I’ve taken on a role that I thought I would never perform: Being a nurse. Actually, I wasn’t a nurse per se—I just performed some of the regular tasks that clinical nurses do. My father was hospitalized for five days and, as an only and obedient child, I stood as a hospital watcher for most of the duration of my dad’s confinement; ergo, being a private duty nurse. I would start my duty at 1:00PM and would go on until 7:00 AM the next day. My mom would come in the morning so I could go home to bathe, change, and take a few hours of nap. I would return to the hospital on or before 1:00PM, at which my mother would go home while I resume my duties. Since I was an unofficial PDN, I was in my everyday clothing: Sneakers, jeans, shirt. My fashion ensemble was mostly in black or gray hues, which explains the title of this post.

How about black nurse’s uniforms? White is easily soiled and can be embarrassing–most especially if its soiled at the start of your shift.

So, I performed some nursing skills. Good thing I never forgot them, since I once planned to reformat my brain to get rid of all the nursing, medical, and pharmaceutical knowledge stored in it. I actually got to apply it in caring for my family. But I have to admit, my skills are slowly wasting away. I have forgotten the generic and brand names of some essential drugs. I no longer know the rationales of some simple nursing and medical procedures. I cannot recall the meanings of several medical acronyms and cannot come up with intelligent diagnoses of certain groups of manifestations. It is just as well. I never really loved this profession anyway. I just hitched on the bandwagon of this profession’s demand.

Despite all these, I can still practice my nursing skills in a non-clinical and non-official manner. Since I have a local nurse’s license, I can help family and friends in whatever conditions they are going through. I can provide health teachings so people would know the physiology of their disease processes and their treatment. Aside from these fringe benefits of my profession, I have come to realize that I would not be the person whom I enjoy today if it wasn’t for the rigorous nursing training that I went to. Few people understand that student-nurses go through punishing academic and clinical preparation before graduating (well, as long as the school is efficient). We also pass through numerous examinations that require endless memorizations, understandings, and applications. Just some of the subjects that we go through are: Anatomy and Physiology, Biochemistry, Chemistry, Community Nursing, Health Economics, Health Strategies, Nursing Research, Organic and Inorganic Chemistry, Pharmacology, Psychiatric Nursing, and Psychology. Add the basic subjects like English, Filipino, History, and Math to the list. Makes me wonder if forgetting my profession is worth it, after everything that I went through.

By the way, I never realized that there are perks to becoming a patient’s hospital watcher. You get a continuous showing of beautiful female nurses in the three various shifts. This meant that I had to look good–awake or asleep. There was this one girl who looked absolutely cute in the white nurse’s uniform. Unfortunately, before I could gt her name on her next shift, my dad was already discharged. Beh! o_O

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

