I’m Back in the Gym!

At long last, I was able to get back to working out in the gym. I stopped lifting weights almost seven months ago. Before getting back to the gym, I felt like my skin was beginning to accumulate again with fat. This is despite the fact that I have never gained any pounds since halting my workout routine. Every time I look in the mirror, I see a combination of hard-to-get-rid-of fat and some loose skin. I feel like a cow.

Cows
You know those lose patches of skin and fat on cows? That's what I see in my body. I know, I'm exaggerating, but (I think!) I've got Body Dismorphic Disorder (BDD).

See, in my college years, I weighed over 100 kilograms! In my last year, I realized the health implications of my obesity (and that I couldn’t really enjoy my youth). So I started to get rid of all the pounds. I initiated “Operation Pagpapapayat (Getting Thin)” in June 2007 by restricting taking anything by mouth eight hours before my hour of sleep. In my first month, I lost 10 kg. As my dieting went on, I lost only five kilograms. I then went into a gym in November of the same year. Five months of working out brought me to 80 kg. Then, I stopped to give my body a break and for my skin to tighten.

I returned to lifting weights in November 2008 and kept at it until May of this year. I was able to reach 69 kg. as my weight. I am now 70 kg. For my height (5’7″) and large frame size, my ideal weight would be 65 kg. I hope I reach that goal before summer of next year.

 

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

