Oh So Magical and Sexy Mamma!

I just watched Mamma Mia! and boy was I swayed by its content of dance and musical numbers! In case you didn’t know (or haven’t read my recent post), Mamma Mia! is a movie musical adaptation of the same play of the West End stages. Its music is composed mainly of Abba songs.

Mamma Mia! Theatrical Poster
Mamma Mia! Theatrical Poster

Mamma Mia!‘s plot is quite easy: Sophie Sheridan (Amanda Seyfried) is 20 years old and is about to get married on a beautiful island off Greece. There are no problems at all–the groom, Sky (Dominic Cooper), is good; the mother, Donna Sheridan (Meryl Streep), is good; the friends (and the mother’s friends) are all good; the neighborhood is good–except for the father whom she never met.

One day, she finds her mother’s diary that she kept when she was pregnant with Sophie. Our bride-to-be finds out that there are three potential fathers: Sam Carmichael (Pierce Brosnan), Harry Bright (Colin Firth), and Bill Anderson (Stellan Skarsgard) and has decided to secretly invite them all to the island, thinking that she would be able to “feel” who her father is once she sets her eyes on him. But another problem arises: she cannot tell who is it! So with the wedding just a night away and all possible fathers assuring their presence at Sophie’s wedding, will there ever be a wedding? What if her mother finds out that she invited all three of them? And will she finally fill in the emptiness within her? What a big mess Sophie has done indeed!

Mamma Mia!This movie got me smiling from start to finish! The overall feel is so bright, I could still feel it even after leaving the theater. The dance numbers remind me of old-school musical numbers where the actors would form a line and dance around the set (i.e., the Dancing Queen number). The music revived my love for Abba songs–those songs that we used to dance or sing to in school, like Dancing Queen, Chiquitita, I Have A Dream, Thank You For The Music, and of course, Mamma Mia!

I was a bit thrown off by Meryl Streep’s acting. It was kind of over the board, but I guess the character required her to portray someone adventurous but childlike. Well, I just didn’t like it much. I was, on the other hand, attracted to Amanda Seyfried. She had beautiful eyes, a bright smile, and great curly blonde hair! Just perfect! 😛

I’m glad the filming took place in the genuine outdoors (unlike other movie musicals where filming is within a studio). I got to see the beautiful islands of Greece! I never thought it was that gorgeous! The last time I saw the same scenes in a film was in The Sisterhood of The Traveling Pants (which, by the way has a sequel coming up!). The place resembled mine, only without the sea. I was so attracted to the sights that I’m thinking of going there someday (why does it seem like I have actually been IN the movie?)! 🙂

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

