Calvary

Once in my life, I experienced one of those father-son disputes. I was kind of overcome with emotion over our heavy dispute that I cried (I actually intended not to cry but I couldn’t help it). To let go of the tempest within me, I wrote the following poem:

Calvary

This is what I asked
But was unanticipated.
Still, I pray
That I would have the strength
     To make it through the night,
     To face the uncertain morning,
     To watch a beautiful sunset,
Until the dawn of a new day.

Lord,
May this chapter edify me to a better way
That if I had to read again,
I would do so with great expectancy
Elsewise, I go blind.

I’m ashamed of every time
I ask for your pardon.
A thousand-fold of apologies;
A never-ending prayer.

Jesus, I ask you
To wane the raging beast within,
That I would never again cast
A dreadful curse
That kills a home
Leaving me in a bed of thorns.

I have gotten off track.
Am I still worthy of you?
I take a step of uncertainty—
My heart thumps so fast
Sensing that somehow,
I have gotten away from You.

Forgive me.

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

