Brother’s Destiny

This is not a poem
Depicting love like that of the star-crossed lovers.
But of love…
That simple love of brotherhood.

Who am I to call you my brother?
For the blood running in your veins is not the same as mine.
We are borne unto different families
Making us worlds apart;
Making this heart of mine shatter into pieces.

Were we once brothers?
Living amongst the galaxies and the universe?
Then suddenly like a shooting star,
Arriving into a world that has made us both happy
Somehow leaving me lonely.

Is this my fate?
Is this what should become of my life?
You do not know me…
…but I long for you to.
I want you to be someone important to you,
Someone special.
Sadly, it is too late.

My soul replenishes
With sadness, loneliness, frustrations, regrets…
How I envy people around me.
I would take my life away
The pain is too much for me to take.
I cannot.

You are only until a dream
But you are real.
I imagine that you are there for me,
Calling out my name,
Enjoying life together
Even though you are not.

Every time I see you smile, I feel the happiness of your heart.
Every time you frown—your face is expressionless, I long to know the thoughts of your mind.
Sometimes, I fell anger and sadness, and to my surprise, loneliness
In those times I wanted to comfort you, to tell you, “I will always be here for you.”

If only you would see me amongst the crowd
And speak to me, this I would tell you,
“I will always be your brother.”

Acknowledgment is due to Charcoals (SY 2002-2003), the English literary folio of Benguet State University-Secondary Laboratory School, where the poem was first published.


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

One thought on “Brother’s Destiny”

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

