Broken Silence

For a long time I’ve known
That a friend,
Is someone who’ll always be there for you
Through thick or thin,
To join you in loneliness.
A person to turn to.

And so, a friend you were
As I’ve ever known.
Since we’ve met
You were all that a friend was
Always.

Two years have passed.
It is our third years as friends.
You’re still the same as I.
Together, we have climbed the highest mountains
Didn’t let go for no one should fall.
Together, we have soared the skies
Through help and cooperation.

One day, you told me
You couldn’t go on and tries to kill yourself.
I was there to stand by you
Ready to listen, to be your crying shoulder,
To help you realize
The beauty of life.

But afterwards, you shocked me
When you said
That everything was just a test,
That you left because there’s no reason not to,
That you just used me,
That I failed badly.
Wasn’t my concern enough?

Here I am out of the barrier.
I will speak.
I will open your eyes to my heart.
Wasn’t my concern enough?
Wasn’t my friendship enough?

Acknowledgment is due to Charcoals (SY 2002-2003), the English literary folio of Benguet State University-Secondary Laboratory School, where the poem was first published.


MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Published by

Recis Dempayos

Budding YouTuber / vlogger, occasional blogger, aspiring multimedia artist.

Enjoyed this article? Make your thoughts known by leaving a comment!

